Role Maintenance

Role Maintenance


Overview: Employee roles are the foundation of security in Coffee Shop Manager. Each role is a list of access to features, functions, menus and reports in the software. Unique roles can be created for groups of employees such as the cashiers; or single employees such as the manager. Roles can contain minimum access such as only allowing log in and time clock access to the baking staff; to complete access to the entire system for the store owner. By default basic sales operations have been assigned to the Cashier role. These should be the only permissions needed for the cashiers to sell items on the register. Also the Store Owner account has been created with full access.



Role Maintenance Introduction

Access the Role Maintenance screen by selecting the button at the bottom of the Employee Screen. Select the Current Role to view, edit or delete. The list of permissions allowed to the selected role appears in the list on the left. These are the features or areas an employee assigned with this role will have access to. The list on the right is the remaining available permissions that can be added to a role.

Current Role – Select an existing Role from the drop-down list to view its current permissions.

Selected Permissions For – This shows the permissions currently assigned to the selected Role.

Permissions Available – This shows the available permissions that can be assigned to the selected Role.

>> - Use this to remove the selected permission from the Role.

<< - Use this to assign the selected permission to the Role.

Show Only – Select a specific set of permissions from this drop-down list. For example: To see only the permissions for the Register, select Register.

Create New Role – Select this to create a new Role and assign the appropriate permission to.

Copy a Role – When Create New Role is selected you will be given the option to copy the permissions from the selected Role to use as a base. For example: To create a Lead role, select the Cashier Role to build the Lead permissions off of.

Save New Role – Select this to save the changes to the new Role created.

Edit Permissions – Select an existing Role from the Current Role drop-down list and select Edit Permissions to make changes to the Role.

Save Permissions – Select this to save the changes to the Role.

Cancel – Select this to cancel any changes made to the Role.

Delete Role – Select this to remove the Role from the program. You will need to assign Employees a new Role before a Role can be deleted.

Role Maintenance Instructions

To create a new Employee Role

  • Select Create New Role. 
  • Enter in a Name for the role in the Role Name field. (example: Lead)
  • Enter in a Description for the role in the Description field. (example: Shift Lead)
  • Select the permissions to be assigned to this role by highlighting a permission from the Permissions Available list and then selecting the << button to move the role to the Selected Permissions list.
NOTE: To remove a permission, highlight the permission from the Selected permission list. Select the >> button to remove it.
Repeat until all of the desired permissions have been added for this role.
  • Select the Save New Role button. 
  • Select Yes to create new role when prompted.
To Copy an existing Role’s permissions

When a Current Role is selected and Create New Role is selected, an option to copy the permission’s will appear. This option allows you to use the selected Role’s permissions as a base for the new Role. For example: I want to create a new Role ‘Lead’ with added permissions from the existing Cashier Role.
  • Select ‘Basic Cashier’ from the Current Role drop-down list. 
  • Select Create New Role.
  • Select Yes to the ‘copy permissions’ message. 
  • Enter a Role Name and Description.
  • Use the << button to add the additional desired permissions to the Role. For example: the permission Allow Coupon Use
  • Select Save New Role.
Now the Lead Role has the same permissions as the Cashier as well as additional permissions.

To Edit an existing employee Role

  • Select an existing Current Role and select Edit Permissions.
  • Select the permissions to be assigned to this role by highlighting a permission from the Permissions Available list and then select the << button to move the role to the Selected Permissions list.
  • Select the permissions to be assigned to this role by highlighting a permission from the Permissions Available list and then selecting the << button to move the role to the Selected Permissions list.
NOTE: To remove a permission, highlight the permission from the Selected permission list. Select the >> button to remove it.
  • Repeat until all of the desired permissions have been added for this role.
  • Select the Save Permissions button. 

To Delete an existing employee Role
  • Select an existing Current Role and select Delete Role.
Note: Roles can only be deleted if it is currently not assigned to any employee (including inactive employees).


View Available Permissions



Related Articles


Employee Introduction

Employee Instructions

Employee | Tasks

Employee | Customize Menu

Employee | Shift

Employee Hours Maintenance

Employee Center

Available Permissions

Task Maintenance


Feedback and Knowledge Base